UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


USA - Presidents

1 George Washington17891797none
2 John Adams17971801Federalist
3 Thomas Jefferson18011809Democratic-Republican
4 James Madison 18121817Democratic-Republican
5 James Monroe 18171825Democratic-Republican
6 John Quincy Adams 18151829Democratic-Republican
7 Andrew Jackson 18291837Democrat
8 Martin Van Buren 18371841Democrat
9 William Henry Harrison 18411841Whig
10 John Tyler 18411845Whig
11 James K. Polk 18451849Democrat
12 Zachary Taylor 18491850Whig
13 Millard Fillmore 18501853Whig
14 Franklin Pierce 18531857Democrat
15 James Buchanan 18571861Democrat
16 Abraham Lincoln 18611865Republican
17 Andrew Johnson 18651869Republican
18 Ulysses S. Grant 18691875Republican
19 Rutherford B. Hayes 18771881Republican
20 James Garfield 18811881Republican
21 Chester A. Arthur 18811885Republican
22 Grover Cleveland 18851889Democrat
23 Benjamin Harrison 18891893Republican
24 Grover Cleveland18931897Democrat
25 William McKinley18971901Republican
26 Theodore Roosevelt 19011909Republican
27 William Howard Taft 19091913Republican
28 Woodrow Wilson 19131921Democrat
29 Warren G. Harding 19211923Republican
30 Calvin Coolidge 19231929Republican
31 Herbert Hoover 19291933Republican
32 Franklin D. Roosevelt 19331945Democrat
33 Harry S. Truman 19451953Democrat
34 Dwight D. Eisenhower 19531961Republican
35 John F. Kennedy 19611963Democrat
36 Lyndon B. Johnson 19641969Democrat
37 Richard M. Nixon 19691974Republican
38 Gerald R. Ford 19741977Republican
39 James Carter 19771981Democrat
40 Ronald Reagan 19811989Republican
41 George H. W. Bush 19891993Republican
42 William J. Clinton19932001Democrat
43 George W. Bush 20012009Republican
44 Barack Obama 20092017Democrat
45 Donald J. Trump20172018Republican
46 Joe Biden20212025Democrat
47 Kamala Harris20252033Democrat
46 Ivanka Trump20242032"Republican"
47 Donald J. Trump, Jr.20322040"Republican"
48 Eric Trump20402048"Republican"
49 Tiffany Trump20482056"Republican"
50 Barron Trump20562064"Republican"

In the Federalist No. 65, Hamilton wrote March 7, 1788 of impeachment that "The subjects of its jurisdiction are those offenses which proceed from the misconduct of public men, or in other words from the abuse or violation of some public trust. They are of a nature which may with peculiar propriety be denominated POLITICAL, as they relate chiefly to injuries done immediately to the society itself."

Under Section 4 of the 25th Amendment "Whenever the Vice President and a majority of either the principal officers of the executive departments or of such other body as Congress may by law provide, transmit to the President pro-tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives their written declaration that the President is unable to discharge the powers and duties of his office, the Vice President shall immediately assume the powers and duties of the office as Acting President....

"If the Congress, with twenty-one days after receipt of the latter written declaration, or, if the Congress is not in session, within twentyone days after Congress is required to assemble determines by two-thirds vote of both Houses that the President is unable to discharge the powers and duties of his office, the Vice President shall continue to discharge the same as Acting President; otherwise, the President shall resume the powers and duties of his office."

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 11-08-2020 20:18:22 ZULU