Find a Security Clearance Job!


DPRK Leadership - April 2009

Leadership Factions
Leadership Purges

[abolished 05 Sep 1998]
Kim, Il-sung
[died 8 July 1994]
General Secretary, Korean Workers' PartyKim, Chong-il, Mar.16 Feb 1941
Supreme Cdr. Korean People's Army (KPA) Kim, Chong-il, Mar.
National Defense Commission (NDC)
ChairmanKim, Chong-il, Mar.
First Vice Chmn. of NDC Cho, Myong-nok, VMar.
Director of the People's Army General Political Bureau
Vice Chmn., NDCKim, Yong-ch'un, VMar.
Minister of People's Armed Forces
Vice Chmn., NDCYi, Yong-mu, VMar.
Vice Marshal of the Korean People's Army
Vice Chmn., NDCO Kuk Ryol, Gen.
Chief of the Operational Department of the Workers' Party
Member, NDCJang Song Taek
Director of the Administrative Department of the Workers' Party
Member, NDCJON Pyong Ho
Secretary of Military Industry
Member, NDCKim, Il-ch'ol, VMar.
First Vice-Director of the Ministry of People's Armed Forces
? Candidate Member, NDCJu Kyu-chang
First Vice-Director of the Ministry of Defense Industry
? Candidate Member, NDCJu Sang-song
Minister of Public Security
? Candidate Member, NDCKim Jong-gak
First Vice-Director of the General Political Department of the People's Army
? Candidate Member, NDCPaek Se-bong
Chairman of the Second Economic Committee
? Candidate Member, NDCU Dong-chuk
Deputy Chief of the Secret Police
Councilor, NDCPAK Myong Chol
* People's Armed Forces, Office of the General Staff
Chief of the KPA General StaffRi Yong-ho, Gen.
Commander, Pyongyang Defense Pak Ki So VMar.
Commander, Security Command Won Ung Hui Gen
Deputy Director, Organization Department Hyon Chul Hae Gen
Director, Propaganda Department Pak Jae Gyong Gen
Commander, 3rd Army Corps Jang Song U Gen
Commander, Mechanized Army Corps Kim Myung Guk Gen
Commander, Air Force Ri Byong-chol
O Kum Chol Col Gen
chief naval commander Jong Myong-do
Director, Operations Bureau Kim Myong-guk
Ri Myung Soo Gen
Supreme People's Assembly (SPA)
Pres., SPA Presidium KIM Yong Nam
Vice Pres., SPA Presidium KIM Yong Dae
Vice Pres., SPA Presidium YANG Hyong Sop
Honorary Vice Pres., SPA Presidium KIM Yong Ju
Sec. Gen., SPA Presidium CHOE Yong Rim
Member, SPA Presidium HONG Sok Hyong
Member, SPA Presidium KANG Chang Uk
Member, SPA Presidium KANG Yong Sop
Member, SPA Presidium KIM Kyong Ho
Member, SPA Presidium PAK Sun Hui
Member, SPA Presidium PYON Yong Rip
Member, SPA Presidium RI Kwang Ho
Member, SPA Presidium RYOM Sun Gil
Member, SPA Presidium RYU Mi Yong
Member, SPA Presidium THAE Hyong Chol
Chmn., SPA CHOE Thae Bok
Vice Chmn., SPA RYO Won Gu
Vice Chmn., SPA  
Premier KIM Yong Il
Vice Premier JON Sung Hun
Vice Premier KWAK Pom Gi
Vice Premier RO Tu Chol
Vice Premier THAE Jong Su
Min. of Agriculture KIM Chang Sik
Min. of Chemical Industry RI Mu Yong
Min. of City Management CHOE Jong Gon
Min. of Coal Industries KIM Hyong Sik
Min. of Commerce RI Yong Son
Min. of Construction &
Building-Materials Industries
TONG Jong Ho
Min. of Crude Oil Industry  
Min. of Culture KANG Nung Su
Min. of Education KIM Yong Jin
Min. of Electric Power Industry HO Thaek
Min. of Electronic Industry O Su Yong
Min. of Extractive Industries KANG Min Chol
Min. of Finance MUN Il Bong
Min. of Fisheries SIM Ki Yop
Min. of Foreign Affairs PAK Ui Chun
Min. of Foreign Trade RI Ryong Nam
Min. of Forestry KIM Kwang Yong
Min. of Labor JONG Yong Su
Min. of Land & Environment Preservation PAK Song Nam
Min. of Land & Marine Transport RA Tong Hui
Min. of Light Industry RI Ju O
Min. of Machine-Building Industry JO Pyong Ju
Min. of Metal Industry KIM Thae Bong
* Min. of People's Armed ForcesKim, Il-ch'ol, VMar.
Min. of People's Security JU Sang Song
Min. of Post & Telecommunications RYU Yong Sop
Min. of Procurement & Food Admin. CHOE Nam Gyun
Min. of Public Health CHOE Chang Sik
Min. of Railways JON Kil Su
Min. of State Construction Control PAE Tal Jun
Min. of State Inspection KIM Ui Sun
Other Leadership
Chmn., State Planning Commission KIM Kwang Rin
Chmn., Physical Culture & Sports Guidance Commission PAK Hak Son
Pres., National Academy of Sciences PYON Yong Rip
Dir., Central Statistics Bureau KIM Chang Su
Chief Sec. KIM Yong Ho
Min. of People's Armed Forces
(not subordinate to the cabinet as of 2009)
Kim, Yong-ch'un, VMar.
Pres., Central Bank KIM Wan Su
Permanent Representative to the UN, New York SIN Son Ho
* Not included in 25 Feb 2009 CIA listing

Join the mailing list