UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


India - States

India States by Population

Rank State or
union territory
(2011 Census)
01 Uttar Pradesh 199,581,477 828 908 Lucknow
02 Maharashtra 112,372,972 365 946 Mumbai
03 Bihar 103,804,637 1102 916 Patna
04 West Bengal 91,347,736 1029 947 Kolkata
05 Madhya Pradesh 72,597,565 236 930 Bhopal
06 Tamil Nadu 72,138,958 555 995 Chennai
07 Rajasthan 68,621,012 201 926 Jaipur
08 Karnataka 61,130,704 319 968 Bangalore
09 Gujarat 60,383,628 308 918 Gandhinagar
10 Andhra Pradesh 48,171,555 308 992 Amravathi
11 Odisha (Orissa) 41,947,358 269 978 Bhubaneshwar
12 Telangana 35,193,978 Hyderabad
13 Kerala 33,387,677 859 1,084 Trivandrum
14 Jharkhand 32,966,238 414 947 Ranchi
15 Assam 31,169,272 397 954 Dispur
16 Punjab 27,704,236 550 893 Chandigarh
17 Haryana 25,353,081 573 877
18 Chhattisgarh 25,540,196 189 991 Raipur
19 Uttarakhand 10,116,752 189 963 Dehradun
20 Himachal Pradesh 6,856,509 123 974 Shimla
21 Tripura 3,671,032 350 961 Agartala
22 Meghalaya 2,964,007 132 986 Shillong
23 Manipur 2,721,756 122 987 Imphal
24 Nagaland 1,980,602 119 931 Kohima
25 Goa 1,457,723 394 968 Panaji
26 Arunachal Pradesh 1,382,611 17 920 Itanagar
27 Mizoram 1,091,014 52 975 Aizawl
28 Sikkim 607,688 86 889 Gangtok
Union Territories
UT1 Delhi 16,753,235 9,340 866 National Capital
UT2 Puducherry 1,244,464 2,598 1,038 Pondicherry
UT3 Chandigarh 1,054,686 9,252 818 Chandigarh
UT4 Andaman and Nicobar 379,944 46 878 Port Blair
UT5 Dadra and Nagar Haveli 342,853 698 775 Silvassa
UT6 Daman and Diu 242,911 2,169 618 Daman
UT7 Lakshadweep 64,429 2,013 946 Kavaratti
UT8 Ladakh 275,000 ... 690 Leh
UT9 Jammu and Kashmir 12,273,926 56 883 Srinagar + Jammu
Total India 1,210,193,422 382 940

A state is a division under Indian constituency, which has a separate government. States are explained as the administrative unit that has its elected government, which has the right to frame its laws. It has its own Legislative Assembly and the Chief Minister, for administration. The Governor acts as the representative of the President, in states. Union Territories are ruled directly by the Central Government has a Lieutenant Governor as an administrator, who is the representative of the President of India and appointed by the Central government. Union Territories have no representation in the Rajya Sabha except Delhi and Puducherry.

The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh awakened to a new future. In 2020 India officially had one state less and two Union Territories more - J&K and Ladakh, i.e. India now had 28 states and 9 union territories.

By 2018 India had twenty-nine states, seven union territories, and one national capital territory. Boundaries of States have changed, names of States have changed, and the number of States has changed. When India became independent, it had a number of provinces that the British government had organised only for administrative convenience. India at the time of independence was not only divided into provinces created by the British; but there were more than 500 princely states which had to be integrated into existing States or new States had to be created.

A number of princely states merged with the newly independent Indian union. These were joined to the existing provinces. Since then boundaries of States have been reorganised many times. During this entire period, not only did boundaries of State change, but in some cases, even their names changed according to the wishes of the people of those States. Thus, Mysore changed to Karnataka and Madras became Tamil Nadu. Telangana became the 29th State of India on the 2nd June, 2014 after reorganisation of the State of Andhra Pradesh.

Pradesh is a Hindi language word meaning "territory", "province", "region" or a lot of other kindred things. Currently, there are five Indian states whose official name includes the word pradesh. The names of the states are a reference to its composition or setting. Hence, Himachal means “snowy slopes” (Sanskrit: hima, “snow”; acal, “slopes”), and Pradesh means “state.” Arunachal Pradesh is derived from Arunacha = Land of the Sun (i.e., Sunrise). Andhra Pradesh is homeland of the Andhras, and Madhya Pradesh, Central Province, and Uttar Pradesh, Northern Province are other forms.

Indian states officially do not have flags of their own, except for Jammu and Kashmir. However, some unofficial flags have been reported.

The ranking of states typically posits much of south India as having fared better than the Hindi-speaking central and northern belt, which includes Bihar, Madhya Pradesh (MP), Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh (UP). The latter are often referred to as BIMARU, a popular acronym meaning ‘sick’ in Hindi.

India New States India New States

India New States

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 13-09-2021 14:50:32 ZULU