The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


Tamil Nadu

Tamilnadu Politics have been controlled by dravidian parties. People have voted for both DMK (Dravida Munetra Kalagam) and AIADMK (All India Anna dravida munnetra kalagam) every alternate tenures. There are no major difference between the parties on their policies and the strategies. Everyone knows that both the parties distribute money for election quite openly. Both these dravidian parties also had most of the media under their control, with their own television channels and newspapers who were doing the marketing and campaigning.

The elections to the panchayat union wards and the district panchayat wards were held in December 2019. The local body elections in Tamil Nadu took place in two phases - on December 27 and 30 and results were release 04 January 2020. This year, four different colours of ballot papers were used instead of the electronic voting machines (EVM). Before counting the votes the ballot papers were being segregated based on their colours.

AIADMK has a strength of 113 minus the Speaker in the 234 member house with 22 vacancies. The simple majority in the full house is 117. DMK is banking on the by-elections to have a shot at capturing power in the state. The party, along with its allies, including Congress, has 97 MLAs against AIADMK's 114 in the 234-member assembly with 22 vacancies. DMK demitted office in 2011, when the late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa stormed to power with a massive victory, reducing the opposition party to double digit figures in the state assembly.

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and its allies established clear leads in Tamil Nadu local body election results, winning 243 district panchayat wards. The AIADMK alliance include: AIADMK, BJP, Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam or DMDK, Pattali Makkal Katchi or PMK, Thyaga Marumalarchi Kazhagam or TMK. The DMK alliance include: DMK, Congress, CPM, CPI, Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or MDMK, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi or VCK, Kongunadu Makkal Desia Katchi or KMDK.

The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), which bagged 214 seats, were relegated to the second spot by the DMK and its allies. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won seven seats in the Tamil Nadu local body elections. The polls, held after a gap of eight years, is the first local body elections since the demise of the towering Dravidian leaders J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi.

All was not well for the AIADMK party. They were losing more often than winning they lost the general elections massively and they just about scraped through in the bypolls to retain power. This is further aggravated by the fact they lost in their bastions like Salem. The party should worry that despite performing well Tamil Nadu was recently adjudged to be the best governed state by the Central Governments Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, and the Centre for Good Governance they were facing anti-incumbency.

Long-delayed and much anticipated, the local body election in Tamil Nadu threw up interesting results - the DMK and its allies won the majority of seats in both the District Panchayat wards and the Union Panchayat wards, while the ruling AIADMK came a close second. The DMK and its allies won 243 District Panchayat wards and bagged 2,099 seats in the Panchayat Union wards while the AIADMK won 214 District Panchayat wards and 1,781 Panchayat Union seats. The BJP managed to win 7 seats in the District Panchayat wards and 85 seats in the panchayat union wards. the CPI won 7 seats in the District Panchayat wards and 62 Panchayat Union ward seats, and CPI(M) got 33 Panchayat Union seats.

The Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly elections to be held in Tamil Nadu on May 2021 for the 234 seats of the Legislative Assembly in the state of Tamil Nadu in India. This will be the first full-state legislative election without J.Jayalalithaa and M.Karunanidhi, as they both died in 2016 and 2018 respectively.

Join the mailing list

One Billion Americans: The Case for Thinking Bigger - by Matthew Yglesias

Page last modified: 12-05-2020 14:23:02 ZULU