UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Navy Units

FLEET Echelon
Numbered Fleet Force / Type Command Naval Forces Echelon
Task Force Group Wing Naval Region Echelon
Task Group Flotilla Naval Base
Task Unit Squadron Squadron Installation Echelon
Task Element Division
Ship Echelon
Watch Department
Section Division

In earlly 2018 the Navy made significant changes to the Navy's physical readiness program. All commands stopped processing members for separation as a result of physical fitness assessment (PFA) failures. Any Sailor who had separation orders resulting from a PFA failure with approved dates after March 31, 2018 are now cancelled. It is giving Sailors a second chance at their career, and it is allowing the Navy to keep good Sailors and allow them to work on their physical fitness.

The next change to the separation policies involve Sailors who are at risk of reaching high year tenure (HYT). These Sailors now have the chance to make rank with the new HYT policy. Sailors who are at the pay grade of E3 now have 6 years before they reach HYT as opposed to the previous 5 years. E4 Sailors have 10 years instead of 6, E5 now have 16 years instead of 14 and E6 now have 22 years instead of 20. Some rates dosn't have a very high advancement rate, and this extra time will definitely help keep good Sailors in the fleet.

The final change made to the Navy's separation policy is the cancellation of all early out programs. The Enlisted Early Transition Program, Time-In-Grade and Next-Lower-Grade Waivers are cancelled and will not be considered.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 25-02-2018 16:53:51 ZULU