UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!



From the early years of the 20th Century through the early decades of the Cold War, a Squadron might consist of two or more Divisions, each consisting of a handful of ships. Carrier Division ONE was organized in October 1930 as part of the Aircraft Scouting Force, U.S. Fleet, operating in the Atlantic Ocean. During this timeframe the following vessels compromised the division: USS LANGLEY (CV-1), USS WRIGHT (AZ-1), USS SANPIPER (AM-51) and USS TEAL (AM-23). And during the 1950s and 1960s Destroyer Squadron 23 consisted of Destroyer Division [DESDIV] 231 and Destroyer Division 232. Divisions were redesignated as "Groups" in mid-1973, and the Division echelon is not currently in usage by the United States Navy.

The "Division" echelon remains in use with the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, the civilian volunteer arm of the United States Coast Guard who donate their time and expertise to support the Coast Guard and improve boating safety. The Coast Guard's administrative structure is divided into fourteen districts, corresponding to the naval districts established by the Navy Department. The Reserve Divisions within each district are administered by civilian officials called the District Commodore and Vice Commodore. Five or more flotillas compose a Division, with an elected Division Captain, Vice Captain, and Junior Captain at its head.

Official Homepage

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 05-07-2011 01:55:33 ZULU