UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


KGB - Organization - 1985

Taking into account the mistakes of the previous heads of special services, Yu.V. Andropov strove to build the activities of the state security body he headed in accordance with the "party line" and the current situation. Such an approach required the periodic reorganization of individual units of the special services.

By 1981, the practice of the KGB bodies showed that the concentration of counterintelligence, protection of the economy and transport, countering hostile elements inside the country in the 2nd Main Directorate of the KGB of the USSR hampers the effective resolution of counter-intelligence tasks. In connection with the above, the Central Committee of the CPSU and the Council of Ministers of the USSR in September 1981 recognized the expediency of creating in the KGB of the USSR the 4th department and the corresponding units on the ground, entrusting them with organizing and carrying out counterintelligence work at transport and communication facilities. In October 1982, the KGB of the USSR established the 6th Directorate and the Sixth Field Divisions with the task of protecting the Soviet economy from the subversive activities of the special services of foreign states and organizations.

In 1983, the KGB of the USSR established a special unit for counterintelligence protection of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the USSR: Office "B" of the 3rd Main Directorate of the KGB of the USSR.

In the mid-1980s. the following system of KGB organs existed. The governing body was the KGB Board, which considered at least once a month the most important issues and approved the leading cadres. It consisted of the chairman of the committee, his deputies, the chiefs of the leading divisions and, traditionally, the chairman of the KGB of Ukraine and the heads of departments in Moscow and the Moscow region, in Leningrad and the Leningrad region, other leaders of major security agencies (15-17 people in total).

The structure of the central apparatus included:

  • 1st Main Directorate of the KGB (external intelligence);
  • 2nd Main Directorate (Counterintelligence);
  • The 3rd Main Directorate (military counterintelligence, which supervised the work of special departments, supervised the Ministry of Internal Affairs and the Ministry of Defense, including the General Staff, military intelligence, the Navy, ground forces, air forces, missile forces, and the State Customs Committee);
  • 4th management (counterintelligence work on transport);
  • 3rd management (protection of the constitutional system, the former 5th management);
  • 6th management (counterintelligence work at industrial facilities);
  • The main department of frontier troops, the total number of which was 220,000 people. They accounted for more than half of all expenditures of the state security budget.
  • 7th management (external supervision);
  • The 8th Main Directorate (encrypted secret correspondence of the center with local authorities and reconnaissance with foreign residences);
  • The 16th Department (allocated in 1973 from the 8th GU, engaged in radio reconnaissance, radio interception and decryption of materials);
  • 9th management (protection of the country's top leadership, state events, foreign delegations); in 1990 it was transformed into the Security Service;
  • The 10th department (archival);
  • 12th department (auditory technical control);
  • The 15th Directorate (design, construction and operation of facilities prepared "for a special period", i.e. in case of war or other emergency circumstances);
  • Operational and technical management (design, development, production and operation of special technical means, perusal of correspondence).

In 1990, the KGB established the Office for Combating Organized Crime. And in the same 1990, the Analytical Department of the KGB was organized. In April 1991, the "SCH" department was formed - in charge of the special units of the KGB troops. At the same time the operational headquarters of the KGB of the USSR was organized.

In addition to the above, the structure of the central apparatus of the KGB included the following units:

  • Inspectorate;
  • Personnel management;
  • Investigation Department;
  • KHOZO;
  • WMU (Military Medical Administration);
  • MAT (Military-Construction Administration);
  • CU (Government Communications Authority);
  • Financial planning department;
  • Mobilization department;
  • The KGB Secretariat;
  • Legal Department;
  • DSP (Public Relations Center).

The KGB had a whole network of educational institutions. Graduate School. Dzerzhinsky gave training in fifty foreign languages, knowledge of special subjects, higher mathematics, physics, etc.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 09-07-2018 13:08:59 ZULU