Find a Security Clearance Job!


Pakistan Leadership

Pakistan has never been a functioning democracy, nor has it ever been a military dictatorship. Its civilian leaders have never been particularly democratic in orientation and its military leaders have never been particularly dictatorial (though General Zia ul-Haq came close). Rather, following a chaotic period of civilian rule between 1947 and 1958, Pakistan has been an unstable and dysfunctional amalgam, with the military seeking simultaneously to engage and rein in the civilians and the civilians doing the same with the military -- both with varying degrees of success.

On September 6, 2008, Asif Ali Zardari, widower of assassinated Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Benazir Bhutto, was elected president and head of state. The PPP-led coalition government moved forward on long-awaited constitutional reforms. In particular, on April 19, 2010, Zardari signed into law the 18th Amendment to the Pakistani Constitution. The amendment realigns executive powers by restoring the prime minister as the premier civilian official and returning the presidency to its original, more ceremonial role as head of state, which largely eliminates constitutional changes made by former President Musharraf to strengthen the presidency. Zardari thus gave up key presidential powers. The reform package also abolishes the two-term limit on prime ministers; restricts the presidents power over judicial appointments; and reorganizes center-province relations, empowering provincial assemblies to elect their own chief ministers. The amendment also renamed the North-West Frontier Province to Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, which means Khyber side of the land of the Pakhtuns, in a nod to the regions ethnic Pashtun majority.

1Quaid-i-Azam Mohammed Ali Jinnah 14-8-194711-9-1948
2Khwaja Nazimuddin14-9-194819-10-1951
3Ghulam Mohammed19-10-19517-8-1955
4Major General Iskander Mirza7-8-195523-3-1956


1Major General Iskander Mirza23-3-195627-10-1958
2Field Marshal Mohammad Ayub Khan27-10-195825-3-1969
3General Agha Mohammad Yahya Khan 25-3-196920-12-1971
4Zulfikar Ali Bhutto20-12-197114-8-1973
5Fazal Elahi Chaudhry 14-8-197316-9-1978
6General Mohammad Zia-ul-Haq 16-9-197817-8-1988
7Ghulam Ishaq Khan 17-8-198818-7-1993
8Wasim Sajjad 18-7-199314-11-1993
9Farooq Ahmad Khan Leghari14-11-19932-12-1997
10Wasim Sajjad 02-12-19971-1-1998
11Muhammad Rafiq Tarar01-01-199820-6-2002
12General Pervez Musharraf 20-6-200218-8-2008
13 Mohammed Mian Soomro18-8-200813-9-2008
14Asif Ali Zardari 13-9-200809 Sep 2013
15 Mohammed Mian Soomro09 Sep 201309 Sep 2018

Prime Ministers of Pakistan

1 Liaquat Ali Khan 15-08-1947 16-10-1951
2 Al-Haj Khwaja Nazimuddin 19-10-1951 17-04-1953
3 Mohammed Ali (Bogra) 17-04-1953 11-08-1955
4 Mohamad Ali (Ch.) 11-08-1955 12-09-1956
5 Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy 12-09-1956 18-10-1957
6 Isamil I. Chundrigar 18-10-1957 16-12-1957
7 Malik Firoz Khan Noon 16-12-1957 27-10-1958
8 Zulfikar Ali Bhutto 14-08-1973 05-07-1977
9 Mohammad Khan Junejo 23-03-1985 28-05-1988
10Mohtrama Benazir Bhutto 02-12-1988 06-08-1990
11 Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi (Caretaker) 06-08-1990 06-11-1990
12Mohammad Nawaz Sharif 06-11-1990 18-07-1993
13 Mir Balakh Sher Mazari 18-04-1993 26-05-1993
14 Moeen Qureshi (Caretaker) 18-07-1993 19-10-1993
15Mohtrama Benazir Bhutto 19-10-1993 05-11-1996
16 Malik Meraj Khalid (Caretaker) 05-11-1996 17-02-1997
17Mohammad Nawaz Sharif 17-02-1997 12-10-1999
18 Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali 23-11-2002 26-06-2004
19 Chaudhry Shujat Hussain 30-06-2004 27-08-2004
20 Shaukat Aziz 28-08-2004 16-11-2007
21 Mohammed Mian Soomro 16-11-2007 25-3-2008
22 Yousuf Raza Gilani 25-3-2008 25-04-2012
23 Raja Pervez Ashraf 22-06-2012 05 Jun 2013
24Mohammad Nawaz Sharif05 Jun 201305 Jun 2018

Join the mailing list