Find a Security Clearance Job!


Navy Order of Battle

Naval Fleet Command
124th Attack SquadronKang-DingTsoying
146th Attack SquadronCheng-KungPescadores
261st Attack SquadronChi Teh
131st Patrol SquadronChao-Yang + Jing-ChiangKeelung
168th Patrol SquadronChao-Yang + Chi YangSuao
27th Amphibious SquadronHsuhai + Chung HoTsoying
151st Amphibious SquadronTsoying
192nd Mine Warfare SquadronYung YangTsoying
256th Submarine UnitHai LungTsoying
142nd Support SquadronWu YiKaohsiung
Other Commands
Naval Aviation Command
Anti-Submarine Warfare Command
Naval Area Command
Naval Base Command
Navy Logistics Command
Educational Training and Doctrine Development Command
Bureau of Maritime Survey
Marine Corps

The Navy General Headquarters is in charge of developing and maintaining the Navy's combat readiness, as well as commanding and supervising all its subordinate fleets and ground units. Under its command are the Naval Fleet Command, the Marine Corps Headquarters, the Navy Logistics Command, Headquarters of the Naval Area Command, the Area Service Office, the Naval Base Command, and the Bureau of Maritime Survey. The Fleet Command consisted of the Amphibious Forces, two Destroyer Squadrons, a Patrol Squadron, a Mine Warfare Squadron and a Logistic Squadron. The subordinate Navy units, in descending order, include the Naval Fleet Command to the fleet, group, and ship levels. The Marine Corps units, like those of the Army, extend from the Marine Corps Headquarters, through division, regiment, battalion, company, and platoon.

Prior to recent reorganizations which consolidated and simplified the command structure, Navy GHQ oversaw operational and land-based forces consisting of:

  • 2 destroyer fleets and 1 frigate fleet;
  • 1 amphibious landing fleet and 1 amphibious landing vessel fleet;
  • 1 submarine group;
  • 1 mine vessel fleet and 1 mine-sweeper/layer fleet;
  • 1 logistical service fleet and 1 logistical rescue group;
  • 1 Hai-chiao speedboat group
  • 1 anti-submarine helicopter group
  • 1 Hai-feng shore-based missile group
  • 2 marine divisions, 1 landing tank regiment, and 1 operational service regiment.

The 1st Naval District, headquartered at Tsoying, is the site of the Fleet Command, the base for southern patrol and transport aviation squadrons, officer training, the Naval Academy and the Naval shipyard (at Kaohsiung). The 2nd District at Makung, Pescadores includes several attack squadrons and naval shipyard and training facilities. The 3rd Naval District at Keelung is the headquarters for northern patrol and transport aviation squadrons.

The ROC Navy Fleet Command was augmented from the former Warship Training Command and re-commissioned on July 10, 1953. Under the Fleet Command, there are 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Logistics and Landing flotillas and the landing boat Group. On February 10, 1955, the Fleet Command was reorganized as the Destroyer Flotilla, Frigate Flotilla, Mine Warfare Flotilla, Patrol Flotilla, Fleet Training Command and Amphibious Warfare Command. On September 1, 1968, the Fleet Command which being designed and renamed as the NFC Headquarters commands Amphibious Warfare Command, Destroyers Command, Fleet Training Command, Logistics Command and Mine Warfare Command.

In 1973, two submarines, called Sea-Lion and Seal, receiving and returned ROC and then on August 1, the original Wu-Choung Flotilla was re-commissioned as Submarine Squadron. On January 1, 1976, the Squadron was re-christened as the 256 Squadron. On July 1, 1991, the Amphibious Warfare Command was decommissioned, and Antisubmarine Warfare and Doctrine Development Command was commissioned, the Landing Flotilla was re-christened as Amphibious Flotilla and the Helicopter Wing was reorganized as Helicopter Group.

For the new forces joining the combat series, Second Frigate Flotilla was commissioned on September 1, 1995. As the commissioning of Cheng-Kung Class frigates(ex-USS Perry Class FFG), Chi-Yang class frigates(ex-USS Knox Class FF), the Kang-Ding class frigates(French Navy Lafayette Class FF), the surface combatant Flotillas reorganized their dispositions accordingly. On January 1, 1998, the Fleet Training Command, which was under the command of Fleet Command, was augmented as the Naval Education, Training and the Doctrine Development Command, and was under the command of the Naval General Headquarters. Meanwhile, the ASW Development Command, the Naval Surveillance and Reconnaissance Command, and Land-based Missile Group were reorganized under the command of Fleet Command.

On April 1, 1999, the ASW Development Command was decommissioned and the Naval Helicopter Group was augmented as the Naval Aviation Command. On Apri1, 2004, the Kuan-Tong Command was augmented and renamed as the Naval Surveillance and Reconnaissance Command, and the Naval Land-based Missile Group was under the command of the Missile Command, the General Staff Headquarter, MND. On, January 1, 2006, the Naval Land-based Missile Group returned to the command of Fleet Command. On March 1, the Fleet Command was re-christened as the Naval Fleet Command. On May 23, 2006, the 261 squadron was commissioned with four Keelung-class destroyers (ex-USS Kidd-class DDGs), which are DDG-1801 ROCS Keelung, DDG-1802 ROCS Suao, DDG-1803 ROCS Tsoying and DDG-1805 ROCS Makong.

Join the mailing list