UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Comprehensive Coalition of Principlists

The Comprehensive Coalition of Principlists (CCP), also known as the Broad and Popular Coalition of Principlists (BPCP) or the Inclusive Coalition of Principlists (ICP), was formed in March 2008, following a split between the political block that helped Mahmoud Ahmadinejad into the presidency. The schism represented a split in interests between ultra-hardline supporters (who went on to form the United Front of Principlists or UFP), and more pragmatic politicians. The three politicians who formed the intial nucleus of the CCP were former nuclear negotiator Ali Larijani (who was also a member of a number of other influential political organizations), Tehran mayor Mohammad Qalibaf, and Mohsen Rezaie, who was at the time secretary of the country's influential Expediency Council. The split came some time after reports of major disagreements between Larijani and Ahmadinejad over the conduct of the nuclear negotiations, which were denied at the time by both Larijani and Ahmadinejad.

In the 2008 Majlis elections, the CCP scored significantly fewer votes than its rival the UFP (which claimed 220 out of 290 seats taken outright in the first round). It was expected that reformists would support Larijani as speaker of the Majlis, after a large number of their candidates were blocked from standing by the Guardian Council during the vetting process. Irregularities during the election were protested by both the CCP and reformist parties.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 09-07-2011 02:45:21 ZULU