UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Karnataka - History

The princely state of Hyderabad, unlike the princely state of Mysore, was interested neither in developing the region economically, nor in investing in human capital.

Karnataka came into being as a state of the Union of India on November 1, 1956 as a result of the merger of five territories where Kannada was the language of the people. These were: four districts of the erstwhile Bombay state; three districts of the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad; two districts and one taluk of the former Madras state; the former Part C state of Coorg (now known as Kodagu); and nine districts of the former princely state of Mysore.

The new state was initially known as Mysore, but subsequently, in 1973, it was renamed ‘Karnataka’, thereby fulfi lling a long standing demand of the people of the state. For administrative purposes, the state was divided into 27 revenue districts. There were initially, at the time of reorganisation, 19 districts, but over time more districts were created. Bangalore Urban district was created in 1986 and, subsequently, in 1997-98, another restructuring led to the creation of Udupi (from Dakshina Kannada), Chamarajnagar (from Mysore), Koppal (from Raichur), Bagalkot (from Bijapur), Gadag and Haveri (from Dharwad) and Davangere (from Chitradurga, Shimoga and Bellary). There were four revenue divisions — Bangalore, Mysore, Belgaum and Gulbarga — which were abolished in 2003 as part of an ongoing process of administrative reforms.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 17-04-2018 18:53:42 ZULU