UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


People's Liberation Army Navy - Naval Aviation Organizational Structure

Naval Aviation is composed of bomber, fighter- bomber, attack, fighter, antisubmarine and reconnaissance units, as well as warning, electronic countermeasure, transport, rescue, and air refueling units. Together, these aircraft have reconnaissance, security, antiship, antisubmarine, and air defense capabilities. The organizational order moves from the Naval Aviation Department through fleet aviation to air divisions and regiments.

Today, as shown below, Naval Aviation has 7 air divisions, which are organized into air regiments and regiment-grade field stations, battalion-grade flight and maintenance groups, and company-grade flight and maintenance squadrons. Naval Aviation also has several independent regiments, such as its shipborne helicopter regiments. Each fleet also has a radar brigade subordinate to Naval Aviation. In addition, the North Sea Fleet has a Naval Aviation AAA regiment.

Naval Aviation's air divisions and regiments are assigned to the following 25 airbases located throughout the three fleets:

North Sea Fleet

Anyang, Changzhi, Dalian, Jiaoxian, Jinxi, Jiyuan, Laishan, Laiyang, Liangxiang, Qingdao, Shanhaiguan, and Xingtai.

East Sea Fleet

Daishan, Danyang, Ningbo, Luqiao, Shanghai, and Shitangqiao.

South Sea Fleet

Foluo, Guiping, Haikou, Jialaishi, Lingling, Lingshui, and Sanya.

Fleet Naval Aviation Force Structure

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 11-07-2011 02:46:23 ZULU