UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Civil War - Military Divisions

During the war, the several States and Territories of the United States were divided into military divisions, military departments and districts. These divisions were, from time to time, changed, abolished, and renewed. The divisions made by order of the President of the United States were as follows :

1853 Military Divisions

  1. The Eastern Division, composed of the 1st, 2d, 3d, and 4th Military Departments, comprises the following States : - Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia; and the portion of Florida and Wisconsin east of a line drawn from Fond du Lac, Lake Superior, to Cape Sable, Florida.
  2. The Western Division, composed of the 5th, fith, 7th, 8th, and 9th Military Departments, is situated within the following limits: - The country west of the line from Fond du Lac, Lake Superior, to Cape Sable (except Oregon and California), embracing the part of Wisconsin west of said line; Minesota; the States of Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Texas; the part of Florida west of said line ; the Indian country west of the Mississippi River; and the Territory of New Mexico.
  3. The Pacific Division, composed of the 10th and llth Military Departments, comprises the State of California and the Territory of Oregon.
The Head-quarters of the Army was in the city of Washington. The Head-quarters of the Eastern Division was at Troy, N. Y. The Head-quarters of the Western Division was at New Orleans, La. The Head-quarters of the Pacific Division was at San Francisco, Cal.

Civil War Military Divisions

During the war the forces called for by the President of the United States were organized first into armies, and later into army corps and armies. The troops sent to a military department were usually called the army of the department in which they operated or were located; the corps were known by numbers, and were part of the army of a department, or sometimes constituted the army. Under General Order No. 118, June 27, 1865, President Lincoln directed that the United States be divided into military divisions, and subdivided into military departments, as follows :

  1. Geographical Division.-General Order No. 47, War Department, July 25, 1861, directs that the Departments of Washington and NorthEastern Virginia should constitute this division, and be under the command of Major-General McClellan, with headquarters at Washington, D.C.
  2. Department Op The Mississippi.-In spring, 1862, this department was enlarged for a time, so as to bring the armies of the Ohio, of the Tennessee, and of the Mississippi under the command of MajorGeneral Halleck, for combined operations.
  3. Military Division Op The Mississippi.-October 16, 1863, General Order No. 337, War Department, the Departments of the Ohio, of the Cumberland, and of the Tennessee were constituted the military division of the Mississippi, under the command of Major-General Grant. March 12, 1864, Major-General W. T. Sherman was placed in command of the division. June 27, 1865, it was to consist of the Departments of the Ohio, of the Missouri, and of Arkansas, with headquarters at St. Louis, Mo.
  4. Middle Military Division.-The Middle Department and the Departments of Washington, of the Susquehanna, and of West Virginia, were constituted this division, August 7,1864, and Major-General P. H. Sheridan placed in command of it.
  5. Military Division Op West Mississippi.-May 7, 1864, General Order No. 192, War Department, created this division, composed of the Departments of Arkansas and the Gulf, and assigned Major-General E. R. S. Canby to the command of it.
  6. Military Division Of The Atlantic.-General Order No. 118, War Department, June 27, 1865, constituted this division, to be composed of the Departments of the East, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Mountain Department; to be commanded by MajorGeneral Geo. G. Meade, with headquarters at Philadelphia, Pa.
  7. Military Division Of The Gulf.-Constituted, June 27, 1865, of the Departments of Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, and Florida, with Major-General P. H. Sheridan in command, and headquarters at New Orleans.
  8. Military Division Of The Tennessee.-Constituted, June 27, 1865, to embrace the Departments of the Tennessee, Kentucky, Georgia, and Alabama; Major-General G. H. Thomas to command; headquarters at Nashville, Tenn.
  9. Military Division Of The Pacific.-Constituted, June 27, 1865, of the Departments of the Columbia and California, and commanded by Major-General H. W. Halleck, with headquarters at San Francisco, Ca.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 05-07-2011 01:36:17 ZULU