UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Nigerian Air Force - Organization

The Nigerian Air Force was established in 1964 and has since been reorganized at 6 various periods. The various reorganizations repositioned the Service to maintain a credible deterrence posture and enhanced its capability to conduct tactical air operations until the late 1980s. But since 1990, NAF efficiency in conducting air operations started to decline, due to several factors. Some of the factors responsible for the decline were traced to the non-commitment of the successive governments to the growth and development of the NAF, poor budgetary allocation, decline in aircraftmaintenance activities, disruptions in training cycles and unserviceability of many platforms.

The deployment of NAF units are grouped into 4 flanks of Nigeria; South-east, North-west and South-west. NAF force structure is therefore tailed with the NAF doctrinal CONOPs in mind. NAF is essentially a tactical air force with the inherent capability to meet the strategic objectives of the government.

As of 2007 the current strength of the NAF was 9,455, comprising 1,396 officers and 8,059 airmen. The NAF is made up of the Office of the Chief of the Air Staff, 6 Staff Branches and 3 field Commands. The branches are the Policy & Plans, Operations, Logistics, Administration, Inspections and Air Secretary while the 3 field Commands are namely the Tactical Air Command (TAC), Training Command (TC) and Logistics Command (LC). Each branch is headed by an Air Officer in charge and the Commands are headed by an Air Officer Commanding.

The CAS office comprises of the Directorate of Finance andAccounts, the Pay and Accounting Group, the NAF Welfare and Insurance Foundation, the Secretariat of the Resident Due Process Team and a Headquarters Camp Organization.

The Policy & Plans Branch is responsiblefor NAF strategic planning. It is the branch for precedence and comprises of the Directorate of Policy, Directorate of Plans, that of Budget, the Directorate of Information & Communications Technology, Museums and Archives. The Operations Branch, as its name implies, is the nerve centere of NAF operations. It is responsible for the formulation, co-ordination and monitoring of NAF operational policies and plans. It is also responsible for the formulation of training policy for aircrew. The 5 directorates under the branch are the Directorates of Operations, Training, Air Intelligence, Air Traffic Services and Regiment. Also, the Branch has 2 direct reporting units namely Presidential Air Fleet (PAF) and National Air DefenceCorps (NADC) which are administratively under the Air Officer Operations (AOO). The Logistics Branch is responsible for the formulation of policies, planning and monitoring of all logistic functions that support NAF operations. The 5 Directorates under logistics branch are the Directorates of Air Engineering, Electronics Engineering, Armament, Supply and Works.

The Administration Branch, which is responsible for the formulation of NAF policies on discipline, Service tradition, welfare and morale comprises the directorates of Administration, Air Provost, Legal Services, Medical Services and the Directorate of Public Relations andInformation. The Inspections Branch is responsible for the formulation of policies for the maintenance of standards and safety in all NAF operations and facilities. It is also responsible for monitoring and ensuring conformity with the stipulated standards for all NAF projects. The directorates of the branch are Evaluation, Safety and the Projects Implementation and Monitoring Directorate. The Office of the Air Secretary is responsible for the postings, formulation of training and personnel management policies in conjunction with the other staff branches and for the sustenance of a highly trained and ready force. The Air Sec comprises of 2 directorates: Personnel Management and the Directorate of Recruitment, Resettlement and Reserve.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 20-11-2011 19:23:15 ZULU