UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Army Order of Battle

In June 2014 a lightning offensive saw Al-Qaeda-inspired forces drive government security forces out of some of Northern Iraqís key cities. Four Iraqi army divisions simply disappeared. The Iraqi army had at least 14 divisions on paper before Islamic State toppled the north's biggest city of Mosul and soldiers deserted en masse. In November 2014 the new 15th and 16th Divisions [including the 75th & 76th Bdes of the later] held initial graduation cerremonies. As of January 2015 several Iraqi security officials estimated the functioning military forces at between seven and nine divisions. They cautioned even those divisions were not all operating at full strength.

Iraqi Army
1st Presdential Protection Brigade 2nd Presidential Protection Brigade Baghdad Brigade
Iraqi Ground Forces Command
1st Division 2nd Division 3rd Division
4th Division 5th Division 6th Division
7th Division 8th Division 9th Mechanized Division
10th Division 11th Division 12th Division
14th Division 17th Division
15th Division 16th Division
Engineering Infrastructure Battalion Iraqi Training Brigade
Iraqi Intervention Force ISOF Brigade
1st Iraqi Army Infrastructure Brigade 2nd Iraqi Army Infrastructure Brigade 3rd Iraqi Army Infrastructure Brigade

As of 2011 the IA had 13 infantry divisions and one partially fielded mechanized division organized under the IGFC. Ground forces include 196 IA battalions in 55 combat brigades organized into 51 infantry, three mechanized, and one tank brigade.

The 1st Division was originally formed from the battalions of the Iraqi Intervention Force (IIF). The 2nd Divisionís battalions are former ING units, and most are manned predominately by Kurdish troops, some being former Peshmerga militia units. The 3rd Divisionís brigade headquarters and battalions are from the original 3-division NIA. The 4th Divisionís battalions are former ING units, recruited locally. It is ethnically diverse and has operational control of a number of Strategic Infrastructure Battalions protecting oil pipelines. The 5th Divisionís brigade headquarters and battalions were components of the NIA.

While most of the 6th Divisionís battalions are former ING units, some with their origins in the INGís predecessor, the ICDC, the division headquarters was not formed until August 2005. The 7th Division was raised in early 2005 to replace disbanded Sunni-dominated ING units which proved unreliable. The 8th Division is composed of former ING units, some of which were formed as early as 2004, but the division headquarters did not assume control of its area of operations until January 2006. The 9th (Mechanized) Division has the entire IA armored (tank) capability. It is ethnically diverse. Some of the battalions of the 10th Division are manned by Shiía militia.

Sectarian divisions within the armed forces reflect the fact many units were created along geographic lines. Sunnis, Shi'ites and Kurds mostly served in geographic areas familiar to their groups. These divisions were even more notable at the battalion level, where battalion commanders tended to command only soldiers of their own sectarian or regional backgrounds.

With no existing war-reserve ammunition standardization or historical utilization (making stockage objectives arbitrary and subjective), the division commanders are continuously adding to their stockpiles. It is estimated the average IA Division has enough small and medium caliber munitions to fight for six to eight days without need of resupply (one division has enough for 11 days of supply), whereas the U.S. Army standard is three days of supply. As of 2010 the current Iraqi ammunition structure, from the depot level down to the battalion level, lent itself to hoarding, reduced transparency, and inadequate infrastructure.

Iraq Army ORBAT

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 07-01-2015 18:41:46 ZULU