Find a Security Clearance Job!


2010 parliamentary elections

Croatian Parliament as of 2010
Croatian Democratic Union HDZ 66 mandates
Social Democratic Party of Croatia SDP56 mandates
Croatian Peasant Party HSS 6 mandates
Croatian Social Liberal Party HSLS 2 mandates
Croatian People's Party HNS 7 mandates
Croatian Democratic Alliance of Slavonia and Baranja HDSSB 3 mandates
Istrian Democratic Assembly IDS 3 mandates
Croatian Party of Rights HSP 1 mandates
Croatian Party of Pensioners HSU 1 mandates
Representatives of National Minorities8 mandates
Deputy Prime Minister Jadranka Kosor took over as Croatias first female Prime Minister in July 2009. Since that time, Prime Minister Kosor focused on tackling corruption at home, while pushing to overcome the last remaining hurdles to Croatias EU accession. In January 2010, Ivo Josipovic won the final round of presidential elections to replace two-term President Stjepan Mesic.

Croatian Prime Minister Jandraka Kosor reshuffled her center-right government 27 December 2010, in a move aimed at pushing the country out of recession and allowing it to complete its bid for European Union membership. Ms. Kosor replaced the ministers of finance, defense, construction and culture, and named a new deputy to oversee investment. She inherited the government from her predecessor, Ivo Sanader, the target of an anti-corruption probe who abruptly resigned in 2009. Ms. Kosor denied any link between the reshuffle and the plight of Mr. Sanader.

As of early 2011 the government had, in addition to Prime Minister Kosor, 18 ministers, which included six deputy prime ministers. Minor coalition partners held three cabinet seats: tourism and two deputy prime minister seats, including one responsible for regional development and returns held by a representative of the Croatian Serb SDSS party. This was the highest-ranking government position held by a Croatian Serb since Croatia's independence in 1991.

On 31 October 2011, Croatian President Ivo Josipovic announced that new parliamentary elections will be held on 04 December 2011. Josipovic made the announcement after Croatia's parliament voted to dissolve. The ruling Croatian Democratic Union took on a coalition of center-left parties, after the HDZ was shaken by a spate of corruption scandals. The opposition parties were leading by a convincing margin over HDZ in recent election polls.

Official results in Croatia's parliamentary elections confirm the center-left opposition bloc defeated the ruling conservatives to take the lead in overhauling the economy before the country joins the European Union. Croatia's state electoral commission says the four-party coalition known as "Kukuriku" (Croatian for a rooster cry), led by the Social Democratic Party, won 80 seats in the new 151-member parliament. The conservative Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) won 47 seats in voting Sunday. The new prime minister of Croatia was Social Democratic Party leader Zoran Milanovic. The 45-year-old replaces conservative Jadranka Kosor.

The Croatian Democratic Union had been in power for all but two years, since the 1990s war for independence from the former Yugoslav federation. The party saw its popularity decline, however, as it became embroiled in a series of corruption scandals, including its alleged involvement in illegal fundraising for previous elections.

Croatia voted for a new head of state 28 December 2014, with none of the four candidates vying for the largely ceremonial post expected to secure an outright victory according to polls. Croatia's president has a say in foreign policy and intelligence and is supreme commander of the armed forces, but has no power to veto laws. Liberal incumbent Ivo Josipovic, supported by the ruling Social Democrats, was seen as a frontrunner even though the government's failure to halt economic decline has eroded the party's popularity.

Ivo Josipovic finished first with 38.6 percent, followed closely by conservative Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic of the conservative Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) with about 37 percent. Two others finished far behind. Josipovic faced a run-off poll on January 11 against Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic.

Incumbent Croatian President Ivo Josipovic on 11 January 2015 admitted his defeat by challenger Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic [who got with 50.54 percent of the vote to become Croatia's first woman President] in the runoff presidential election, with a gap between the two at about one percent of the vote, according to Josipovic's election campaign headquarters. "Let me congratulate the newly-elected president Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic on her victory," the outgoing president said in a statement.

Join the mailing list