UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!



The Republic of Kazakhstan lies right in between Europe and Asia, between 45 and 87 of East longitude, 40 and 55 of North latitude. Kazakhstan represents the geographical centre of the European and Asian subcontinent (the crossing of the 78 meridian with 50 parallels in the epicentre of the former Semipalatinsk atomic proving ground.

It occupies a vast area of 2724,9 thousand square kilometres (1048,3 thousand square miles), it stretches from the east of the Caspian Sea and Volga plains to the mountanious Altay and from the foothills of Tien Shan in the south and south-east to the West-Siberian lowland in the north. The extent of the territory from the west to the east is more than 3000 kilometres (I 150 miles) and from the south to the north is 1700 kilometres (650 miles).

The size of the territory places Kazakhstan ninth in the world, after Russia, Canada, China, USA, Brasil, Australia, India and Argentina. Such seven largest European countries as: France, Spain, Sweden, Germany, Finland, Italy and Great Britain or such Asian countries as: Pakistan, Turkey, Iran, Japan and Vietnam could be placed together on the territory of Kazakhstan. Only this is the evidence of the enormous potentiality of that region of the globe.

In the east, north and north-west Kazakhstan borders with Russia (the extent of the border is 6477 kilometres). In the south it borders with the countries of Central Asia: Uzbekistan (2300 kilometres), Kyrgyzstan (980 kilometres) and Turkmenistan (380 kilometres). In the south-east it borders with China (1460 kilometres). The total extent of Kazakhstan borders is nearly 12,2 thousand kilometres, including 600 kilometres along the Caspian Sea in the west.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 09-07-2011 02:35:42 ZULU