The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


19th Theater Support Command (CONUS Augmentation)

The 19th Theater Area Army Command (CONUS Augmentation), was activated at Fort Des Moines, Iowa on September 16, 1993, with Maj. Gen. John M. Vest as its first commander. In time of war, the headquarters augments the 19th TAACOM (Forward), headquartered in Taegu, Korea to provide Direct and General Combat Service Support (CSS) to units in the theater of operations.

In peacetime, the 19th TAACOM (CA) is headquartered at Fort Des Moines, and exercises command and control over four subordinate commands. The 6th Material Management Center (CONUS Augmentation) at Arden Hills, Minnesota acts as a wartime subordinate command of the 19th, and augments the 6th MMC (Forward) in Taegu, Korea. The 3rd Corps Support Command (CONUS Augmentation) is a general officer command and augments the 3rd COSCOM (Forward) in Germany. Other subordinate commands include the 19th Material Management Center in Arden Hills, Minnesota, the 366th Public Affairs Detachment in Des Moines, the 100th and 103d Chaplain Teams in Arden Hills, Minnesota.

The 6th Materiel Management Center (MMC) in Arden Hills, MN, currently has openings for reserve officers, warrant officers, noncommissioned officers and enlisted soldiers of all ranks. The unit is a data processing control center for other US Army Reserve (USAR) units scattered throughout the state. It provides integrated supply and maintenance management for the 19th Theater Army Area Command for all classes of supplies (minus maps, medical material and communication security (COMSEC) equipment). The 6th MMC is organized into a unit headquarters, a service-support division, a logistics automation system support office (LASSO) and seven divisions (each responsible for a specific class of supplies). The seven divisions are the petroleum division, aviation division, electronics division, armament-combat vehicle division, missile-munitions division, automotive division and the troop support material division.

The 19th TAACOM (CA) has no formal lineage of its own, and follows the main lineage of the 19th TAACOM (Forward). Even so, the Des Moines unit carries a proud tradition from previous Army Reserve units headquartered at Fort Des Moines. Nearly all of its senior members were part of the 103rd COSCOM. That was originally organized as a Reserve division in 1921, and served with distinction in World War II prior to being re-established as an Army Reserve unit at Fort Des Moines in 1947. Illustrious commanders of that unit included MG Anthony McAuliffe of Battle of the Bulge fame; MG Hanford MacNider, a former assistant Secretary of War; MG Evan L. Hultman, retired Executive Director of the Reserve Officers Association; and MG Roger Sandler, first commander of the United States Army Reserve Command, and retired Executive Director of the Reserve Officers Association.

Join the mailing list

Page last modified: 05-07-2011 01:21:54 ZULU