UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

RAF Driffield

Thor was deployed at four main bases: Driffield, Hemswell, Feltwell and North Luffenham. Surrounding each main base were four satellite stations, with missiles deployed at each location in groups of three. On 29 November 1962 the first Thor came off alert at the 98th Royal Air Force SMS in Driffield.

Driffield is situated approximately two miles west of the small market town of Great Driffield on the north side of the A163 road. The facility was first used by 'C' Flight of 33 Squadron, Royal Flying Corps, while on Home Defence Duties, though it was never developed as a permanant aerodrome until 1918. During the early 1930s the site was surveyed and found suitable to re-activate as an airfield. Although work did not start until the end of 1935. The new airfield, now known as Driffield, opened on July 30th 1936 as a bomber station within No.3 Group. The grass airfield was far from complete and the hangers and living quarters were not completed until 1937.

Driffield was transferred to the Army on 01 January 1977, and re-named Alemein Barracks. On April 1st 1977, the Army School of Mechanical Transport formed here and it now houses 32 Junior Leaders Squadron, Royal Corps of Transport and a Support Flight, Royal Air Force. Many wartime buildings still remain, including the fort-type control tower, but the airfield as been converted into a cross-country driving circuit.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 24-07-2011 04:50:37 ZULU