The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

DPP takes presidency, legislature for the first time

ROC Central News Agency

2016/01/16 21:01:02

Taipei, Jan. 16 (CNA) The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) won both Taiwan's presidency and control of the country's legislature for the first time in history Saturday, scoring a resounding victory over the ruling Kuomintang (KMT).

The DPP had taken at least 60 of the total of 113 seats in the Legislative Yuan with some races still undeclared as of 8:45 p.m., compared with 40 seats in the last election in 2012.

The KMT, which won 64 seats four years ago, looked uncertain to get even half that many as of 8:45 p.m.

The KMT suffered major losses in the greater Taipei area, which had long been one of its strongholds.

In the last election, the KMT won seven out of eight seats in Taipei, 10 of 12 seats in neighboring New Taipei and the only seat in Keelung.

This time, however, the KMT only won five seats in Taipei and two seats in New Taipei.

The DPP took two seats in Taipei, nine in New Taipei and one in Keelung, while its minority ally New Power Party took the remaining two seats in the region, one in Taipei and one in New Taipei.

Veteran KMT lawmakers Lin Yu-fang (林郁方) and Ting Shou-chung (丁守中) from Taipei and Lee Ching-hua (李慶華) and Wu Yu-sheng (吳育昇) from New Taipei fell victim to widespread dissatisfaction with the KMT administration.

Winning a legislative majority is particularly significant for the DPP. Even though Chen Shui-bian became the first DPP member to win the presidency in 2000, the DPP never held an absolute majority in the legislative body, though it did have the most seats of any party from 2001 to 2004.

(By Tai Ya-chen and Jay Chen)

Join the mailing list