UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

Implementation of the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act

Press Statement
Morgan Ortagus, Department Spokesperson / May 16, 2019
Washington, DC

Today the State Department submitted to Congress the sixth annual report on the U.S. government's actions to implement the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act ("Russia Magnitsky Act"). As part of this report, the State Department, in consultation with the Treasury Department, submitted to Congress a list of five individuals and one entity who have been determined, based on credible information, to meet the criteria described in the Russia Magnitsky Act. These listed are: Ruslan Geremeyev, Sergei Kossiyev, Abuzaid Vismuradov, the Terek Special Rapid Response Team, Gennady Karlov, and Yelena Trikulya. The addition of these names brings the total number of individuals and entities publicly designated under this program to 55.

Among the new names added to the list this year are those responsible for recent notorious gross human rights violations, including the extrajudicial killing of Russian opposition leader Boris Nemtsov, and the torture and extrajudicial killings of LGBTI persons in the Republic of Chechnya. We also have designated two individuals for having participated in efforts to conceal the legal liability of the detention, abuse, or death of Sergei Magnitsky.

We reiterate our call for the Russian Federation to bring to justice those responsible for the detention, abuse and death of whistleblower Sergei Magnitsky, a Russian lawyer who died in a Moscow prison on November 16, 2009, after a year in pre-trial detention following his revelation of a large tax fraud scheme perpetrated by Russian officials. Despite widely-publicized, compelling evidence of criminal conduct resulting in Magnitsky's detention, abuse, and death, Russian authorities have failed to bring to justice those responsible. Nearly 10 years after his death, we remain concerned by the impunity for this and other violent crimes against activists, journalists, whistleblowers, and political opposition, as well as the intense atmosphere of intimidation for those who work to uncover corruption or human rights violations in the Russian Federation.

These individuals have also been added to the Treasury Department Office of Foreign Assets Control's List of Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons ("SDN List"). As a result, all assets of these individuals that are subject to U.S. jurisdiction or in the control of U.S. persons are blocked, and U.S. persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions with these individuals. The Russia Magnitsky Act also renders listed individuals ineligible to receive a visa to enter the United States and ineligible to be admitted to the United States.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list