UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

People's Daily Online

U Htin Kyaw sworn in as Myanmar's new president

People's Daily Online

(Xinhua) 13:16, March 30, 2016

NAY PYI TAW, March 30 -- U Htin Kyaw of the National League for Democracy (NLD), led by Aung San Suu Kyi, was sworn in on Wednesday as Myanmar's new president.

Military-assigned First Vice President U Myint Swe and second vice president of the NLD U Henry Van Thio also took the oath of office in the presence of parliament Speaker U Mann Win Khaing Than.

The swearing-in ceremony was followed by that of a nine-member Constitutional Tribunal, led by U Myo Nyunt, a five-member Union Election Commission, led by U Hla Thein, and 18 cabinet ministers named by President U Htin Kyaw.

Among the ministers, six were from the ruling NLD, two from the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), three were military members of parliament and seven were non-parliamentarian experts.

NLD Chairperson Aung San Suu Kyi became the country's new foreign minister, who concurrently held three other portfolios in the new government.

In addition to the Foreign Ministry post, the 70-year-old Suu Kyi will also be the President's Office minister, education minister and minister of electricity and energy.

President U Htin Kyaw delivered his first address in the parliament before heading to the Presidential Palace for a ceremony of taking over of power from his predecessor U Thein Sein.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list