UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

US threat, sanction policy has failed: Iran FM

IRNA - Islamic Republic News Agency

Sep 17, 2021

Tehran, IRNA -- Iran's Foreign Minister Hossein Amirabdollahian said that sanctions and threats are among the failed, but permanent, policies of the United States.

On the sidelines of the 21st Summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) in Dushanbe, Tajikistan, the Iranian top diplomat said in a meeting with his Belarussian counterpart Vladimir Makei that the US sanctions campaign follows its unilateralism, which is a failed and unacceptable policy in the eyes of the Islamic Republic of Iran.

Amirabdollahian also called for expansion of all-out relations with Belarus, urging that a joint commission of both countries should be held in the shortest period ahead.

Referring to the problems of Iranian students in Belarus, he called on his counterpart to pave the ground for proper situation of Iranian students in the country.

Makei, for his turn, expressed satisfaction with the meeting with his Iranian counterpart, emphasizing that his country is ready to hold joint commission and develop ties with the Islamic Republic.

Expressing gratitude to the Iranian authorities for their steadfastness in standing against the United States' unilateralism, the Belarussian foreign minister underlined that the policy is doomed to fail.

The 21st summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) opened in Dushanbe, Tajikistan, on Friday, with participation of heads of 12 member and observer states, including Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi.

President Raisi along with top officials from Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Pakistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan are present in the event, while presidents of Russia, China, India, and Mongolia take part in the summit via video conferencing.

The SCO consists of eight permanent member states, including India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia and Uzbekistan. Four states of Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia are still observer members and six countries of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey, and Sri Lanka are dialogue partners.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is an effective regional and intra-state organization, which was established by leaders of China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan in 2001.

The 21st summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization will come to an end on September 17.


Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list