The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

Rouhani's proposed ministers win parliament's vote of confidence, except one

ISNA - Iranian Students' News Agency

Sun / 20 August 2017 / 13:46

Tehran (ISNA) – The 17 ministers proposed by Iranian President to form his cabinet have won the parliament's vote of confidence, except the pick for the energy portfolio.

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani took part in the parliament session held on Sunday morning to make his final defense of the ministers he proposed to form the 12th Administration.

Iranian lawmakers had five days to review the plans and backgrounds of the proposed ministers.

The president has to appoint a caretaker for the Energy Ministry, and has three months to name a new minister.

For the science, research and technology portfolio, Rouhani has not nominated a minister either.

The 16 ministers who won the parliament's vote of confidence are minister of foreign affairs Mohammad Jabad Zarif, minister of petroleum Bijan Namdar Zanganeh, minister of industry, mine and trade Mohammad Shariatmadari, minister of roads and urban development Abbas Akhoundi, minister of intelligence Seyed Mahmoud Alawi, minister of defense General Amir Hatami, minister of the interior Abdolreza Rahmani-Fazli, minister of labor Ali Rabiei, minister of agriculture Mahmoud Hojjati, minister of health Seyed Hassan Ghazizadeh-Hashemi, minister of culture and Islamic orientation Seyed Abbas Salehi, minister of communications and information technology Mohammad-Javad Azari-Jahromi, minister of youth affairs and sports Massoud Soltanifar, minister of justice Seyed Alireza Avaei, minister of education Seyed Mohammad Bathaei and minister of economy Massoud Karbassian.

MPs voted for 16 proposed ministers, but Habibollah Bitaraf proposed for the post of the minister of energy did not get the majority of parliamentarians voted.

End Item

Join the mailing list

One Billion Americans: The Case for Thinking Bigger - by Matthew Yglesias