UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

Davutoglu: Iran low-enriched uranium will be kept in Turkey

IRNA - Islamic Republic News Agency

Tehran, May 17, IRNA – Visiting Turkish Foreign Minsiter Ahmet Davutoglu said here on Monday that Turkey and Brazil will keep Iran's low-enriched uranium in Turkey as long as Iran has not received any fuel for Tehran Research Reactor.

Davutoglu made the remarks during a press conference on the sidelines of the 14th G15 Summit in Tehran on Monday.

He said the Iran-Brazil-Turkey declaration conveyed two massages for the world and the Iranian nations.

“According to trilateral declaration, Iran will deliver 1,200 kilograms of low-enriched uranium to Turkey,” Turkish foreign Minister said.

He added Iran will negotiate with Vienna group and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in this respect in the near future.

Davutoglu also expressed hope that Iran nuclear program issues could be settled through negotiations and diplomacy.

Iran, Brazil and Turkey have signed a declaration for nuclear fuel swap in Turkish territory.

The trilateral meeting opened in Tehran on the sidelines of the 14th G15 Summit.

Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Foreign Minister Manouchehr Mottaki, Secretary of Iran's Supreme National Security Council Saeed Jalili, Brazilian President Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva and Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan are participating in the trilateral meeting.

The 14th G15 summit, attended by almost seven presidents, opened in Tehran with a speech by President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

The meeting is also attended by vice-presidents, deputy ministers or foreign ministers of certain other G15 members.

Iran, Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Venezuela and Zimbabwe are the G15 members.

Group 15 was established in September 1989 to develop economic cooperation among developing countries.

The G15 is a group of 18 developing countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America and was set up to foster co-operation amongst members and other international groups.

The G15 focuses on cooperation among developing countries in the areas of investment, trade, and technology.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list