UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

Trilateral declaration on nuclear fuel swap inked in Tehran

IRNA - Islamic Republic News Agency

Tehran, May 17, IRNA – Iranian Foreign Minister Manouchehr Mottaki said here Monday that Iran, Brazil and Turkey have signed a declaration for nuclear fuel swap in Turkish territory.

The trilateral meeting opened in Tehran on the sidelines of the 14th G15 Summit.

Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Foreign Minister Manouchehr Mottaki, Secretary of Iran's Supreme National Security Council Saeed Jalili, Brazilian President Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva and Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan are participating in the trilateral meeting.

The 14th G15 Summit will be opened in Tehran on Monday with the participation of the high-ranking officials from member states.

Five presidents including da Silva, Senegalese President Abdoulaye Wade, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Algerian President Abdelaziz Bouteflika and Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe will attend the event.

Turkey, Nigeria and India are among other participants of the event.

G15 Ministerial Meeting was held in Tehran on May 15.

Group 15 was established in September 1989 to develop economic cooperation among developing countries.

The G15 focuses on cooperation among developing countries in the areas of investment, trade, and technology. Its membership has expanded to 18 countries, but the name has remained unchanged.

Iran, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, India, Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela, Chile, Jamaica, Mexico, Algeria, Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal and Zimbabwe are members of the G15.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list