UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

India - Press Information Bureau


India - Press Information Bureau

Ministry of Defence

Posted On: 10 DEC 2021 3:46PM by PIB Delhi

There are 27 Infantry Regiments in the Indian Army. Details are as follows:

S.No. Regiment Year of Raising
1. PARA 1761
2. PUNJAB 1705
3. MADRAS 1758
5. MARATHA LI 1768
6. RAJ RIF 1817
7. RAJPUT 1798
8. JAT 1817
9. SIKH 1846
10. SIKH LI 1941
11. DOGRA 1858
12. GARH RIF 1901
13. KUMAON (including NAGA) 1730
14. ASSAM 1941
15. BIHAR 1941
16. MAHAR 1941
17. JAK RIF (including LADAKH SCOUTS) 1837
18. JAK LI 1948
19. 1 GR 1815
20. 4 GR 1857
21. 3 GR 1815
22. 9 GR 1817
23. 5 GR 1858
24. 8 GR 1836
25. 11 GR 1948


          Budget allocation in the Army is not carried out Regiment wise.

          As per Government policy on the subject, all citizens irrespective of their class, creed, region or religion are eligible for recruitment in the Indian Army. After Independence, it has been the policy of the Government not to raise any new Regiment for a particular class/community/religion or region. Adequate vacancies are being provided to all classes to ensure equitable opportunity for recruitment into the Army.

          Many Petitions, VIP references, Parliament questions, Private Member Bills etc for raising of new regiments based on Class/Region/Names of Historical and National Heroes etc have been received from time to time. However, as per Government Policy quoted above, no new regiment has been raised.

          One of the War Cries of BIHAR Regiment is "BIRSA MUNDA KI JAI". Indian Army has numerous Regiments across various Arms & Services. They have been constituted in different years and have different slogans.

 This information was given by Raksha Rajya Mantri Shri Ajay Bhatt in a written reply to Shri Naba Kumar Sarania in Lok Sabha today.



(Release ID: 1780094)

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list