UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Matzu Defense Command

In1949,military advantage reverse of the suppression of Communist rebellion, we established Army Matsu Temporary Command in order to be convenient to operational command, which was attached to the Taiwan Provincial Police Command Next June, it was transferred to the Taiwan Defense Command. In 1952,it was placed under the Golden Gate Defense Command. In 1955,the company was reorganized to form the “Army’s Malay Guarding Area Command” and was also transferred to the Ministry of National Defense. In 1965, the company was adapted to “Army Matsu Defense Command ;in 1969, it was transferred to Army Command and Defense Department. In response to the ROC Armed Troops Streamlining Program, it was renamed “Army Matsu Defense Command” on March 1,2006.

Located on Matzu Island, the Matzu Defense Command is comprised of two infantry brigades and an artillery command. The MDC also has one company from the 101st Amphibious Recon. Battalion. Matsu Defense Command is responsible for combat command tasks in the Matsu area. The defense area covers 18 islands of various sizes, including Matsu Nangan, Beigan, Gordon, Xiyin, Dongdog, Xiqu, and Dongyin. As of 2013 the combat troops under the Command include the 193rd, 194th, and 195th garrison brigades and the 1st, 2nd and 3rd battalions of the infantry; the combat support troops include the 69th artillery headquarters, the 781 communications battalion, the combat engineer battalion, and the chemical company; The service support unit has a logistics support command. Writespri

The Matsu Archipelago is tiny. All told, the islands in the chain amount to 30 square kilometers in area. Its importance was in its location: Matsu is about 210 kilometers northwest of Keelung and lies just outside the mouth of China's Min River. In this forward position, it naturally made an important military outpost in Taiwan's line of defense against China. All that changed in 1994, however, when much of the army moved out and the islands opened to tourists. By 1999, the Matsu National Scenic Area was set up and began attracting visitors to the archipelago's Nankan, Peikan, Chukuang, and Tungyin islands. The main island, Nankan, is often simply referred to as Matsu Island and is the political, economic and cultural center of the archipelago.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 06-10-2021 12:14:55 ZULU