The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


Army Bases

There is a large joint services base at Thaba Tswane outside Pretoria. The Army has major bases at Bloemfontein, Johannesburg, Durban, Kimberley, Ladysmith, Lothala, Nelspruit, Kroonstad, Oudtshoorn, Pietersburg, Port Elizabeth, Potchefstroom and Youngsfield. The largest of these is the Tempe base outside Bloemfontein, which is home to 44 Parachute Regiment, an armoured car regiment, an infantry battalion and the School of Armour. Most of the other bases house single units or a corps school and a unit and other elements of that type formation. The Combat Training Centre at Lohatla is also home to a mechanized battalion group. Technical Base Complex Centurion or TEK Base ("Tegnies Basis Werkswinkel") is located at Centurion, south of Pretoria. It holds a number of active SANDF units within its borders and also has a housing complex for active members.

Join the mailing list

Page last modified: 09-07-2011 13:09:53 ZULU