UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


Army Regional Military Commands

A total of six army group commands have been created, called Bureau of Special Operations, commanded by lieutenant generals. These are superimposed on the existing combination of regional commands and centrally controlled forces, with at least 331 battalions in the field. Operational command in the field was unified under the control of the ministry in a framework of nine regional commands [a number later increased to thirteen]. They were Northwestern (headquarters Mandalay), Western (Sittwe [Akyab]), Central (Toungoo), Southwestern (Bassein), Northern (Myitkyina), Northeastern (Lashio), Eastern (Taunggyi), Southeastern (Moulmein), and Rangoon. Each regional command initially had at its disposal from three to 12 infantry battalions, though operational requirements may increase this number to over 40. Armor and artillery are deployed separately as needed.

Regional Military Command - 1997 Regional Military Commands - 2001
Regional Military Command (RMC) Badge States & Divisions Headquarters Strength
Bureau of Special Operations 1
Central Command Mandalay Division Mandalay 17 x Infantry Battalions
North Western Command Sagaing Division Monywa 25 Infantry Battalions
Northern Command Kachin StateMyitkyina 33 x Infantry Battalions
Bureau of Special Operations 2
North Eastern Command Northern Shan State Lashio 30 x Infantry Battalions
Eastern Command Southern Shan State Taunggyi 42 x Infantry Battalions including 16 Light Infantry Battalions under Regional Operation Command (ROC) Headquarters at Loikaw
Triangle Region Command Eastern Shan State Kyaingtong (Kengtung) 23 x Infantry Battalions
Bureau of Special Operations 3
South Western Command Ayeyarwady Division (Irrawaddy Division) Pathein (Bassein) 11 x Infantry Battalions
Southern Command Bago and Magwe Divisions Toungoo 27 x Infantry Battalions
Western Command Rakhine (Arakan) and Chin States Ann 33 x Infantry Battalions
Bureau of Special Operations 4
Coastal Command Tanintharyi Division (Tenassarim Division) Myeik (Mergui) 43 x Infantry Battalions including battalions under 2 MOC based at Tavoy
South Eastern Command Mon and Kayin (Karen) States Mawlamyaing (Moulmein) 36 x Infantry Battalions
Bureau of Special Operations 5
Yangon Command Yangon Division Mayangone Township-Kone-Myint-Thar 11 x Infantry Battalions
Bureau of Special Operations 6
Naypyidaw Command Naypyidaw Pyinmana Formed in 2006 - ? x Infantry Battalions

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 29-06-2018 19:56:41 ZULU