UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


SS (Schutzstaffel) Field Formations (Waffen SS)

When war broke out in 1939, Himmler commenced the formation into divisions of units of the SS, armed and trained for employment with the Army. Only two or three such divisions were formed prior to the Russian campaign, but by the end of the war there were many SS divisipns. For certain administrative purposes, the Waffen SS units remained part of the SS and under the control and command of Himmler as Reichsfuehrer SS. However, for operational purposes in combat and in occupied areas, the SS divisions were under the command of the Army; and their employment differed little from that of the regular divisions of the Army.

Waffen SS Corps

    SS infantry corps
  1. X SS Corps
  2. XI SS Corps
  3. XII SS Corps
  4. XIII SS Corps
  5. XIV SS Corps
  6. XVI SS Corps
  7. XVIII SS Corps

    SS Panzer corps
  8. I SS Panzer Corps
  9. II SS Panzer Corps
  10. III (Germanic) SS Panzer Corps
  11. IV SS Panzer Corps
  12. VII SS Panzer Corps

    SS miscellaneous corps
  13. V SS Alpine Corps
  14. IX Waffen Alpine Corps of the SS (Croatian)
  15. XV SS Cossack Cavalry Corps

Waffen SS Divisionss

1st SS Division Leibstandarte SS Adolf Hitler
2nd SS Division Das Reich
3rd SS DivisionTotenkopf
4th SS Polizei Division
5th SS Panzer Division Wiking
6th SS Mountain Division Nord
7th SS Volunteer Mountain Division Prinz Eugen
8th SS Cavalry Division Florian Geyer
9th SS Panzer Division Hohenstaufen
10th SS Panzer Division Frundsberg
11th SS Volunteer Panzergrenadier Division Nordland
12th SS Panzer Division Hitlerjugend
13th Waffen Mountain DivisionSS Handschar (1st Croatian)
14th Waffen Grenadier DivisionSS Galizien (1st Ukrainian)
15th Waffen Grenadier Division SS (1st Latvian)
16th SS Panzergrenadier Division Reichsführer-SS
17th SS Panzergrenadier Division Götz von Berlichingen
18th SS Volunteer Panzergrenadier Division Horst Wessel
19th Waffen Grenadier Division SS (2nd Latvian)
20th Waffen Grenadier Division SS (1st Estonian)
21st SS Mountain Division Skanderberg (1st Albanian)
22nd SS Volunteer Cavalry Division Maria Theresa
23rd Waffen Mountain Division SS Kama (2nd Croatian)
23rd SS Volunteer Panzergrenadier Division Nederland (1st Dutch)
24th Waffen Mountain (Karstjager) Division
25th Waffen Grenadier DivisionSS Hunyadi (1st Hungarian)
26th Waffen Grenadier Division(2nd Hungarian)
27th SS Volunteer Grenadier Division Langemarck (1st Flemish)
28th SS Volunteer Grenadier Division Wallonien
29th Waffen Grenadier DivisionSS (1st Russian)
29th Waffen Grenadier DivisionSS (1st Italian)
30th Waffen Grenadier DivisionSS (2nd Russian)
31st SS Volunteer Grenadier Division
32nd SS Volunteer Grenadier Division 30 Januar
33rd Waffen Cavalry DivisionSS (3rd Hungarian)
33rd Waffen Grenadier DivisionSS Charlemagne (1st French)
34th SS Volunteer Grenadier Division Landstorm Nederland
35th SS and Police Grenadier Division
36th Waffen Grenadier Division
37th SS Volunteer Cavalry Division Lutzow
38th SS Grenadier Division Nibelungen
Panzer DivisionKempf

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list

Page last modified: 11-07-2011 02:55:42 ZULU