The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


Air Drop Bombs of the Great War

Class Type Weight
Barlow bomb 60 5
Mark I 104 52 47 7
Mark II 22 9 28 5
Mark III 52 24 36 6
Mark IV 260 120 47 12
Mark V 500 280 59 16
Mark VI 1,000 500 63 21
Demolition 2,000 lb 2,000 1,000 90 18
4,000 lb 4,000 2,000 112 23
Fragmentation Mark I 94 13 58 6
Mark II 19 1 30 3
Mark III 49 6 50 5
Incendiary Mark I 40 21 36 6
Mark II 46 26 36 6
Mark III 100 36 6
Practice Mark I 22 0 27 4

Aerial drop bombs are divided into classes according to the use for which they are intended. There are three general types, viz, high-capacity (demolition), fragmentation, and incendiary, all of which have been designed and equipped to meet the requirements abroad. Changes are constantly being made in details, such as the method of suspension, to make possible the use of the bombs in new release mechanisms and planes.

High-capacity drop bombs, so called because of the large ratio of the weight of the explosive to the weight of the casing, are used for general demolition purposes. The targets engaged include fortified positions, railroad terminals and lines, heavy structures of all kinds, supply depots, ammunition dumps, etc.

Fragmentation bombs are used against personnel, such as troops in the field or on the march, or wherever the protection afforded is slight. These bombs carry a relatively small charge of explosive in a heavy steel casing and depend for their effect on the fragmentation of this casing.

Incendiary bombs are used for incendiary purposes against ammunition dumps, aerodromes, grain fields, etc. There are two types, the scatter and the intensive.

Dummy drop bombs are used for instructional purposes.

Join the mailing list

Page last modified: 07-07-2011 02:50:36 ZULU