UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


The Defence Implications of Possible Scottish Independence - Defence Committee Contents

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire) (Chair)

Mr Julian Brazier MP (Conservative, Canterbury)

Thomas Docherty MP (Labour, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Rt Hon Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Democratic Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Adam Holloway MP (Conservative, Gravesham)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Penny Mordaunt MP (Conservative, Portsmouth North)

Sir Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Ms Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham, Edgbaston)

Derek Twigg MP (Labour, Halton)

The following Member was also a member of the Committee during this inquiry.

Sandra Osborne MP (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at www.parliament.uk/parliament.uk/defcom.

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume. Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Alda Barry (Clerk), Dougie Wands (Second Clerk), Karen Jackson (Audit Adviser), Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Rowena Macdonald and Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistants), and Sumati Sowamber (Committee Support Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is [email protected] Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list