The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


225-member Sri Lankan Parliament sworn in Thursday

IRNA - Islamic Republic News Agency

New Delhi, April 22, IRNA -- Sri Lanka’s new 225-member Parliament was sworn in Thursday. In the inaugural session of the 14th Parliament Chamal Rajapaksa, the elder brother of Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa has been elected Speaker.

Priyankara Jayaratne was elected as the Deputy Speaker. The ruling United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) is representing with 144 members, whilst 60 are from the United Nationalist Party (UNP), 14 from ITAK and 7 from the Democratic National Alliance (DNA).

Today's session was limited to the swearing in by the new MPs, election of Speaker, Deputy Speaker, and Deputy Chairman of Committees.

The former Army Chief General Sarath Fonseka, currently under military detention also attended the inaugural session, All India Radio said.

Fonseka was elected to the Parliament in the April 8 general election.

Mr. Rajapaksa had earlier appointed Dissanayake Mudiyanselage Jayaratne, a founder member of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, as the new Prime Minister.

The new Council of Ministers is expected to be announced on Friday.

The 13th Parliament was dissolved by President Mahinda Rajapaksa on February 9, 2010 and General Elections were held on April 8.


End News / IRNA / News Code 1072068

Join the mailing list