The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


UN Security Council takes on five new members

IRNA - Islamic Republic News Agency

New York, United Nations, Jan 9, IRNA -- Five new members of the UN Security Council have started their 2-year term, while three countries of the five are Muslim states.

In an election held in the UN General Assembly, Nigeria with 186 votes, Gabon with 184, Lebanon with 180, Bosnia-Herzegovina with 183, and Brazil with 182 votes succeeded to take a chair in the Security Council as non-permanent members.

Nigeria and Gabon substituted Libya and Burkina Faso in Africa and Brazil substituted Costa Rica in Latin America. Bosnia-Herzegovina substituted Croatia in Europe and Lebanon from Asia substituted Vietnam.

Security Council has five permanent members including: USA, Britain, France, Russia and China and 10 non-permanent members, totally 15 members.

Lebanon, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Nigeria, Gabon, Brazil, Japan, Mexico, Turkey, Uganda and Austria are the 10 non-permanent members.

Every year an election for choosing five non-permanent members of the Security Council is held in the UN General Assembly.

The council needs 9 positive votes from 15 members to approve a case, on condition that none of permanent members cast a negative vote on the issue.

So, the role of non-permanent members of the council is symbolic and as a matter of fact it is just legitimizing the decisions of the five permanent members.


End News / IRNA / News Code 885176

Join the mailing list