UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!


IMCOM Realigns U.S. Regions, Creates National Capital Area District

Jun 09, 2008
BY IMCOM Public Affairs

ALEXANDRIA, Va. - Installation Management Command will realign the boundaries of its three U.S. regions on July 1, moving 13 states and their 11 installations of various sizes from the West Region to Northeast and Southeast regions.

The rebalancing refines realignment actions carried out under the 2005 Base Realignment and Closure law that consolidated the Northwest and Southwest regions in 2006. The combined West Region became very large, taxing region staff to adequately oversee all its far-flung installations. With this move, installations including forts Leonard Wood and McCoy move to Northeast, while Fort Polk and Pine Bluff Arsenal move under Southeast.

IMCOM has six regions worldwide. The Northeast, Southeast and West regions are in the continental United States. The realignment of the states within these three regions will increase effectiveness and efficiency of regional resources, IMCOM officials said.

"With the current structure, the director of Installation Management Command in the West Region, Randy Robinson, and his staff are responsible for installations in 27 states ranging from as far east as Ohio to the West Coast," said Maj. Gen. John Macdonald, IMCOM deputy commander.

"After the regional boundaries shift, the (West Region) staff will spend less time traveling across the country, and more time with commanders stationed within borders comparable to the other continental United States regions," Macdonald said.

Another part of the regional rebalance is development of a National Capital Region District that will be commanded by Brig. Gen. Dennis Rogers. Rogers is the deputy director of operations and facilities at Headquarters Installation Management Command in Arlington, Va.

In preparation for the relocation of the Headquarters Installation Management Command to San Antonio, Texas, in 2011, the new district will remain and operate out of Washington, D.C., area offices. Current Northeast Regions installations Fort Meade, Md., Fort Belvoir, Va., Fort Myer, Va., and Fort McNair, Washington, D.C., will shift under Rogers' command as part of the National Capital Region District on July 1.

This continental U.S. regional rebalance distribute the major installations to nine in the West, 10 in the Southeast and seven in the Northeast. These actions are part of the Army's strategy to complete Base Realignment and Closure and other stationing actions by September 2011.

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list