The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW


U.S. Department of Defense
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Public Affairs)
News Release

  No. 1228-07
IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 17, 2007

DoD Announces New Defense Policy Board Members

Secretary of Defense Robert M. Gates today announced John J. Hamre will chair the Defense Policy Board Advisory Committee. Hamre, a former deputy secretary of defense, is currently the president and chief executive officer of Center for Strategic and International Studies.

In addition, Secretary Gates announced the addition of the following new members to the board: J.D. Crouch, former Deputy National Security Advisor; Robert Joseph, former Under Secretary of State; Gen. (Ret.) Pete Pace, former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs; William Perry, former Secretary of Defense; and Peter Rodman, former Assistant Secretary of Defense.

These members join the following returning members: Harold Brown; Adm. (Ret.) Vern Clark; Victoria Clarke; Devon Cross; Aaron Friedberg; Newt Gingrich; Fred Ikle; Gen. (Ret.) Jack Keane; Henry Kissinger; Gen. (Ret.) Richard Myers; Nadia Schadlow; James Schlesinger; Marin Strmecki; Vin Weber; Ruth Wedgewood; Christopher Williams; and James Q. Wilson.

The Defense Policy Board provides the secretary, deputy secretary and under secretary for policy with independent, informed advice and opinion concerning matters of defense policy.

Join the mailing list