The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Space

Cygnus Cargo Spacecraft Launched From Florida Toward ISS

Sputnik News

01:07 07.12.2015(updated 11:33 07.12.2015)

NASA reported that orbital ATK on Sunday launched its Cygnus cargo ship from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida to resupply astronauts at the International Space Station after postponing the launch twice over weather conditions.

WASHINGTON (Sputnik) – Orbital ATK on Sunday launched its Cygnus cargo ship from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station (CCAFS) in Florida to resupply astronauts at the International Space Station (ISS) after postponing the launch twice over weather conditions, the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) said.

The United Launch Alliance (ULA) Atlas V rocket was initially scheduled to take the Cygnus spacecraft to the ISS at 5:55 p. m. EST (22:55 GMT) on Thursday. The launch was then rescheduled for Friday 5:33 p.m. EST (22:33 GMT), but was cancelled again because of poor weather conditions.

The spacecraft is expected to dock with the ISS on Wednesday.

The delayed mission is Orbital ATK's fourth to the ISS under NASA's Commercial Resupply Services contract with the company. According to NASA, this will be the first flight of an 'enhanced' Cygnus spacecraft, which has a higher payload capacity and new fuel tanks.

The improvements come after the October 2014 accident, when an Orbital ATK Antares rocker that was to deliver a Cygnus spacecraft to the ISS crashed six seconds after launch. Orbital ATK suspended deliveries to the ISS after the crash.

Sputnik



NEWSLETTER
Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list