The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Space

Russia launches freighter with candies, books to ISS

RIA Novosti

28/04/201021:42

MOSCOW, April 28 (RIA Novosti) - Russia has launched a cargo module to the International Space Station (ISS), mission control said on Wednesday.

The Progress M-05M freighter lifted off on a Soyuz-U rocket at 21:15 Moscow time [17:15 GMT] from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan and is due to dock with the ISS at 23:35 Moscow time [19:35 GMT].

Mission control said the spacecraft will deliver over 2.5 tons of supplies, including equipment, parcels from home, chocolate, candy, new video films and books.

Progress-series freighters have been the backbone of the Russian space cargo fleet for decades. In addition to their main mission as cargo spacecraft, they are used to adjust the ISS orbit and conduct scientific experiments.

Russia "buried" its last analog - as opposed to digitally controlled - space freighter, the Progress M-67, in the Pacific in September.



NEWSLETTER
Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list