The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Space

Russian cargo spacecraft docks with ISS

RIA Novosti

17/05/2008 12:45 MOSCOW, May 17 (RIA Novosti) - The Russian Progress M-64 cargo spacecraft has successfully docked with the International Space Station (ISS), a Mission Control spokesman said on Saturday.

The spacecraft docked at 1:39 a.m. Moscow time (21.39 GMT Friday) and delivered more than 2.3 tons of fuel, food, water, and other supplies to the ISS.

Progress M-64 was launched from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan at 00.23 Moscow time on Thursday (20.23 GMT on Wednesday).

The ISS Expedition 17 crew comprises Russian cosmonauts Sergei Volkov, Oleg Kononenko, and NASA astronaut Garrett Reisman.

A previous Progress spacecraft, M-63, delivered 2.5 metric tons of cargo to the ISS in February.

In April, Europe's first space freighter, Jules Verne, delivered over 7.5 metric tons of supplies to support operations on the orbital station for another six months.



NEWSLETTER
Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list