The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Space

Russia launches Progress space freighter to ISS

RIA Novosti

15/05/2008 10:30 MOSCOW, May 15 (RIA Novosti) - Russia has successfully launched a Progress M-64 cargo spacecraft to deliver fuel, food and other supplies to the International Space Station (ISS), a Mission Control spokesman said on Thursday.

A Soyuz-U carrier rocket blasted off from Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan at 00.23 Moscow time on Thursday (20.23 GMT on Wednesday).

The Progress spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the ISS on May 17 at 01:37 a.m. Moscow time (21:37 GMT May 16).

The ISS Expedition 17 crew comprises Russian cosmonauts Sergei Volkov, Oleg Kononenko, and NASA astronaut Garrett Reisman.

A previous Progress spacecraft, M-63, delivered 2.5 metric tons of cargo to the ISS in February.

In April, Europe's first space freighter, Jules Verne, delivered over 7.5 metric tons of supplies to support operations on the orbital station for another six months.

 



NEWSLETTER
Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list