UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Space

Progress M-59 cargo ship to be undocked from ISS August 1

RIA Novosti

27/07/2007 13:14 MISSION CONTROL (outside Moscow), July 27 (RIA Novosti) - Russia's Progress M-59 space cargo ship will be undocked from the International Space Station (ISS) August 1 and de-orbited into the Pacific, a representative of Mission Control said Friday.

"The flight of the Progress M-59 cargo ship as part of the ISS is nearing completion, and its undocking from the station is planned for August 1, at 6:02 p.m. Moscow time [2:02 p.m. GMT]," he said.

In addition, Mission Control is preparing another cargo ship - Progress M-61 - for launch to the ISS in line with the ISS flight program.

"The launch of the Progress M-61 ship is scheduled for August 2, at 9:33 p.m. Moscow time [5:33 p.m. GMT], and its docking with the ISS for August 5, 10:40 p.m. Moscow time [6:40 p.m. GMT]," the representative said.

Mission Control said Tuesday it successfully adjusted the International Space Station's orbit in preparation for the docking of the U.S. space shuttle Endeavour.

The launch of the NASA STS-118 mission is targeted for August 8. It will be the 22nd flight to the International Space Station (ISS) and the first flight for Endeavour since 2002.



NEWSLETTER
Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list