UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Homeland Security

UK House of Commons - Foreign Affairs Select Committee

Foreign Policy Aspects of the War against Terrorism

2 July 2006

Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the administration, expenditure and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies.

Current membership

Mike Gapes (Labour, Ilford South), Chairman

Mr Fabian Hamilton (Labour, Leeds North East)

Rt Hon Mr David Heathcoat-Amory (Conservative, Wells)

Mr John Horam (Conservative, Orpington)

Mr Eric Illsley (Labour, Barnsley Central)

Mr Paul Keetch (Liberal Democrat, Hereford)

Andrew Mackinlay (Labour, Thurrock)

Mr John Maples (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)

Sandra Osborne (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Mr Greg Pope (Labour, Hyndburn)

Mr Ken Purchase (Labour, Wolverhampton North East)

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Ms Gisela Stuart (Labour, Birmingham Edgbaston)

Richard Younger-Ross (Liberal Democrat, Teignbridge)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the parliament.

Rt Hon Mr Andrew Mackay (Conservative, Bracknell)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/foreign_affairs_committee.cfm.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Steve Priestley (Clerk), Sarah Ioannou (Second Clerk), Ann Snow (Committee Specialist), Kit Dawnay, (Committee Specialist), Kevin Candy (Committee Assistant), Catherine Jackson (Secretary) and Chintan Makwana (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6394; the Committee's email address is foraffcom@parliament.uk

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list