The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Homeland Security

Kenya Becomes 10th African Nation to Authorise Russia's Sputnik V Vaccine

Sputnik News

10:37 GMT 10.03.2021

MOSCOW (Sputnik) - Kenya became the 10th African country to authorise Russia's Sputnik V vaccine against the coronavirus, the Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF) said on Wednesday.

"RDIF announces the approval of the Russian Sputnik V vaccine against coronavirus in the Republic of Kenya. Sputnik V has been registered under the emergency use authorisation procedure", RDIF said in a press release.

With the authorisation of Sputnik V in Kenya there are now 10 African nations that have registered the Russian vaccine, the fund added.

"Sputnik V is approved in 47 countries around the world with more registrations expected in coming weeks. It is truly a vaccine for all humankind and one of the best solutions to fight the pandemic", RDIF CEO Kirill Dmitriev said, as quoted in the press release.

In August 2020, Russia became the first country in the world to register a vaccine against the coronavirus, dubbed Sputnik V, and developed by the Gamaleya research institute.

According to analysis of phase 3 clinical trials of Sputnik V, published by The Lancet medical journal, Sputnik V has 91.6 percent efficacy against symptomatic COVID-19.

© Sputnik

Join the mailing list