UNITED24 - Make a charitable donation in support of Ukraine!

Homeland Security

Russia's Sputnik V Vaccine Authorised in 26 Countries, RDIF Says

Sputnik News

09:10 GMT 12.02.2021(updated 09:51 GMT 12.02.2021)

MOSCOW (Sputnik) - Russia's coronavirus vaccine Sputnik V has been authorised in Montenegro and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, thus bringing the total number of countries where it is authorised to 26, the Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF) said Friday.

"The Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF, Russia's sovereign wealth fund) announces the approval of Russia's Sputnik V vaccine against coronavirus in Montenegro and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. In total, 26 countries have already authorised Sputnik V", the RDIF said in a press release.

This means that Sputnik is "one of the world's top three coronavirus vaccines in terms of the number of approvals issued by government regulators".

Earlier this month, peer-reviewed medical journal The Lancet published an interim analysis from the phase III trials of the Sputnik V vaccine, showing its 91.6 percent efficacy against symptomatic COVID-19.

Russia's Sputnik V is the world's first vaccine against COVID-19 and was developed by the Gamaleya Research Institute of Epidemiology and Microbiology and registered on 11 August.

Sputnik V uses two different vectors for the two-shot vaccination course, providing immunity with a longer duration than vaccines using the same delivery mechanism for both shots.

© Sputnik

Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list