The Largest Security-Cleared Career Network for Defense and Intelligence Jobs - JOIN NOW

Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)

Russia's Medvedev approves Security Council composition

RIA Novosti

25/05/2008 18:49 MOSCOW, May 25 (RIA Novosti) - Russian President Dmitry Medvedev approved the composition of the Security Council of Russia, the Kremlin press office said on Sunday.

The Security Council will be chaired by Medvedev.

The Security Council's permanent members will be Prime Minister Vladimir Putin, Federal Security Service Director Alexander Bortnikov, State Duma Speaker Boris Gryzlov, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Federation Council Speaker Sergei Mironov, head of the presidential administration Sergei Naryshkin, Interior Minister Rashid Nurgaliyev, Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev, Defense Minister Anatoly Serdyukov and Foreign Intelligence Service Director Mikhail Fradkov.

Medvedev was inaugurated as Russia's third president on May 7 as Putin stepped down after eight years as head of state.

Join the mailing list

One Billion Americans: The Case for Thinking Bigger - by Matthew Yglesias