Find a Security Clearance Job!

Space

Soyuz TMA-18 spaceship to return to Earth Friday

RIA Novosti

14:51 23/09/2010

MOSCOW, September 23 (RIA Novosti) - The Russian Soyuz TMA-18 spaceship with three crew members on board will depart early on Friday from the International Space Station, a spokesman for Russia's Mission Control said.

The three crew members are Russian cosmonauts Aleksander Skvortsov and Mikhail Korniyenko and NASA astronaut Tracy Caldwell-Dyson.

The Soyuz spaceship is expected to undock from the ISS at 05:34 am Moscow time (01:34 GMT) and land at 08:55 am Moscow time (04:55 GMT) to the south-east of the central Kazakh city of Jezkazgan, the spokesman said.

NASA astronaut Douglas Wheelock will take over from Expedition 24 Commander Alexander Skvortsov on Friday after midday, he said.

Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin and NASA astronauts Wheelock and Shannon Walker will continue working at the space station.

A new Russian Soyuz TMA-01M spaceship equipped with a new digital computing and telemetric system will blast off from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on October 8.



NEWSLETTER
Join the GlobalSecurity.org mailing list